Weighing In – Part 1

“When you have curves, you’re just a cheeseburger away from looking heavy.” – Kim Kardashian

Losing weight and maintaining weight are two completely different things and I am currently learning just how hard it is to adjust.

Losing weight: Before embarking on losing weight, you have to put yourself in the mindset mentally. I am serious!
You have to look at your calendar and see all those birthday parties, holidays, nights out etc. will be wiped away. Most of our activities with our friends and even in daily life involve EATING. Eat, eat, eat. Who can blame us when we have so many delicious choices and food brings people together?
Losing weight is not just about making healthy eating choices. It’s about making extremely healthy eating choices every single day until you reach your goal.

It’s about PLANNING. I am not talking about what you are going to have the next day for lunch, but what you are having the next 7 days of eating for every single meal. Why? Because given that slight window of CHOICE, it could go south very quickly.

Losing weight is hard. Even those 5, 10, 15, 20lbs etc – it’s not easy.

You have to be committed and stick to your guns. There will be people who try to bring you down or try to tempt you. Seriously, my best advice is just avoid going out altogether. Why put yourself in a situation where you have to face awkward scenarios or explain yourself? There are times during this journey where I brought my own packed dinner to restaurants or outings and the questions and smirks were endless.

I think once your body clues in with the your consistency, it will start to approve and adapt in which you will see your body change.
There are people who change their lifestyle and watch the weight change slightly etc. I’ve always been one of those people who like instant gratification. I need to see things happen to stay motivated. I went extreme.
I cut out all oil and sugar from my food. I ate the very basic things you can to keep your body running. I drank 2L + water per day. I started moving way more.

Each meal would consist of:
– Protein (egg, chicken or fish grilled or baked)
– Vegetables (spinach, cucumbers, tomatoes, cauliflowers etc)
– Fruit (natural sugar of apple or orange)
– Melba toast (for fiber)
– Water, water, water (sometimes Green Tea)

You can get creative with your cooking by using certain spices or herbs. Of course, the first few days were awful. You crave EVERYTHING. I had DREAMS about food and then wake up panicked if I cheated or not. Eventually as you see your body change, it becomes real and the proof helps you continue.

I know a lot of people are against weighing yourself everyday but I loved it! It helped me keep track of how my body reacted to different proteins and vegetables.
I also took Before & After photos because visuals are so important to help keep you the motivation.

Believe it or not, losing weight was the easier part. Maintaining it is 100x harder…..stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

