Long distance relationships.

Uhhh…what do I know? I’ve recently joined the LDR Club. Not sure if there is one but there should be. You know, for support and all.

As I have mentioned in my previous post, my boyfriend was accepted to a school in California back in November. Let me back track, not just any school. One of the most prestigious design schools, Art Center College of Design for the Transportation Design program. Obviously, very proud and happy for him. He is going to be EPIC.

Anyhow, veering off track. Of course, this news meant that changes were going to be occurring in our relationship. BIG changes. We’ve been dating about a little over a year now and I’ve come to see him as staple in my every day life. It would be natural to gravitate towards one another. The distance from our houses were only 15 minutes and  for most days of the week, we’d be with one another. We embarked on parties, events, activities and whichever came up…together.
All of a sudden, we realized we were going to be very, very far away from each other. Now what?

We know that our foundation is strong that was built over the time we’ve been together. It is enhanced by our  shared experiences, trust, values, and love.  
There is no alternative but to grasp this LDR by horns and so to speak, just ride it.
The month before he left was hectic. There was a lot going on and in between I tried to soak up as much time with him as possible. I think the road trip provided great bonding time. Let me tell you the hardest thing I had to do was say goodbye to him at the airport before I boarded that plane.  Tears were streaming down my face and I just knew that things were never going to be the same again.

It’ been 10 days. It feels like forever. (Yes I am a bit dramatic, but it honestly does). Over the next few weeks, I’ll probably turn to this blog and try to sort out my feelings about LDR and what I am learning.

I learned the first week was very difficult. I immediately felt the void of his absence. I began to learn how much I love technology. I am quite addicted to my Iphone + laptop. The following things I did helped:
– Installed Skype: only to find out I HATE it. It’s quite laggy and frustrating that sometimes it hangs up. Too many users and the connection isn’t great.
– Added a long distance plan: $45 from Bell to call & text unlimited to the Canada+US
– Installed Tango: only to discover I LOVE it. It’s clear and real time picture with a good sound quality

What use to be said in person is now said with everything else; MSN, Email, Facebook, Tango, text and phone.

Even though I feel super connected (which you can tell above from the list, we find each other in all portals), I still miss him a lot and it’s hard to substitute.
There is something to be said about relishing the joy of just being with that person even if no words are said.

I am up for a challenge though and this is worth it. I have a feeling this will be something I’ll be blogging about more frequently due to the fact I think it helps me sort out my thoughts as well. If you have any tips on long distance, please feel free to message me.

Leave a Reply

