No imitation

 

Genuine: free from pretense, authentic, sincere & honestly felt.

There was a point in my life, nothing I can pinpoint, where I decided to just scrape away all the bullshit.
I said to myself,  “I’d rather lose out short-term than to suffer long-term.”
With most aspects in my life I don’t ask for a lot. I just want you to be honest and sincere with me.
Like most Taurus, I feel the need to do everything by myself.
I guess you can say I hate being ‘indebted’ to anyone. There’s Pride barging its way in.
As I plan to keep networking in my life, creating new friendships and maintaining current ones I find the need to slice the (pardon my french) bullshit in half.
I use to have a lot of time to entertain these people and to play their games but as time goes by I found myself purging them one by one.
When I wake up each morning, my goal is to be a good person.

“For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others
 For beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness
& for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.”
-Audrey Hepburn

This means I try to do upon others as I would myself, only honest words past my lips and I never try to cheat anyone out of anything.
I admit sometimes it’s a struggle because there are temptations to lie, to take and try to fit in. Society doesn’t make it easy.
But when I climb back in my bed, I know that I was true to myself in the way I live my life and I sleep easy.

Do you have a hard time telling the truth? Why do you think that is? How has being genuine benefited your life?

Leave a Reply

