Paperclip Heart

I am not sure why I have a fascination with paperclips. I find myself fiddling with a few a day and it comforts me.
Whilst cleaning my room this evening, I stumbled on my collection of writings from a decade ago. I am not sure who the author is but I’d like to share it. I am sure my 13yr old self swooned over short snippets like this:


He has loved her since the day he met her but they were only best friends.
One day he saw her playing with a paperclip.
“What are you doing?” he asked her.
She ignored him and continued to finish. When she was done she looked up and showed him a heart formed from the paperclip.
“Who’s that for?” he asked her. She looked over at the guy sitting a few chairs away from her. She walked up to give the paperclip to him. He started to play around with it. After awhile he gave it back to her, broken.
“Sorry, I messed it up. I don’t know how to fix it”.
The girl looked at the broken heart and frowned. “I just gave him my heart which he played with and broke it so easily. Why?”
As she thought this to herself, her best friend took the broken paperclip heart. He slowly fixed it for her, making mistakes but then trying again and again until he fixed it. As she watched him, she thought, “Hes always been there for me. No matter what it took to make me happy, he’s always tried until I was happy. He was always there when I was sad or needed someone to be there for me”.
And when he finished fixing the broken heart paperclip, he handed it back to her, she realized he’s the one she needed to be with. He was the one who knew how to make her happy, how to heal her heart, the one she loves.
“I love you” she whispered as she took his hand which held the paperclip heart, her heart.

Posted in Uncategorized

One thought on “Paperclip Heart

Leave a Reply

