My Best Friend

If you were my best friend, I’d want you around all the time.

Grade 10:
As I sat there in english class, I stared at the girl next to me.
She was my so-called “best friend”.

I stared at her long silky hair and wished she was mine, but she didnt notice me like that and I knew it. After class, she walked up to me for those notes she had missed the day before, I handed them to her.  She said “thanks” and gave me a kiss on the cheek. I want to tell her, I want her to know that I don’t want to be just friends. I love her but I am just too shy and I don’t know why.

Grade 11: 
The phone rang, it was her. She was in tears, mumbling on & on about how her exboyfriend had broke her heart. She asked me to come over because she didn’t want be alone, so I did. As I sat next to her on the sofa, I stared at her soft eyes, wishing she was mine. After 2 hrs of  Drew Barrymore movies, 3 bags of chips, she decided to go to bed. She looked at me, said, “thanks” and gave me a kiss on the cheek. I want to tell her, I want her to know that I don’t want to be just friends. I love her but I am just to shy and I don’t know why.

Grade 12:
The day before prom she walked to my locker.
“My date is sick, he’s not gonna go”, she said.
Well I didn’t have a date and we made a promise that if neither of us had dates, we would go together  just as “best friends”, so we did.  Prom night, after everything was over, I was stood at her front door step. I stared at her as she smiled at me and stared at me with her crystal eyes. I want her to be mine but she doesn’t think of me like that, I know it. Then she said, “I had the best time, thanks” and gave me a kiss on the cheek. I want to tell her, I want her to know that I don’t want be just friends. I love her but I am too shy and I don’t know why.

Graduation:
A day passed, then a week, then a month…before I could blink, it was Graduation day. I watched as her perfect body floated like an angel up on stage to get her diploma. I wanted her to be mine but she doesn’t notice me like that and I knew it. Before everyone went home, she came to me in her smock and hat. I cried as I hugged her. Then she lifted her head from my shoulder and said, “you will always be my best friend, thanks” and gave me a kiss on the cheek. I want to tell her I want her to know that I don’t want to be just friends. I love her but I am just too shy and I don’t know why.

Wedding Day: 
Now I sit in the pews of the church, that girl is getting married now. I watched her say ‘I do’ and drive off to her new life, married to another man. I wanted her to be mine but she didnt see me like that and I knew it. Before she drove away, she came to me and said,  “you came, thanks” and kissed me on the cheek. I want to tell her, I want her to know that I don’t want be just friends. I love her but I’m just too shy and I don’t know why.

The Funeral:
Years passed, I looked down at the coffin of a girl who used to be my ‘best friend’.  At the service, they read a diary entry she had wrote in her high school years.
This is what it read: I stared at him wishing he was mine, but he doesnt notice me like that and I know it. I want to tell him. I want him to know that I don’t want to be just friends. I love him but I am just too shy and I don’t know why. I wish he would tell me he loves me!”
I wish I did too, I thought to myself.
Do yourself a favour, make sure you tell the person you love how you feel, they won’t be there forever..so dont be shy..cause this is why.

Leave a Reply

